Kaniho Named Campbell Trophy Finalist

25 Nov 2021 | 07:49 | Rugby

BOISE, Idaho – Boise State senior nickel Kekaula Kaniho has been named a member of the 2020 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, Presented by Fidelity Investments, and one of 12 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy Presented by Mazda, the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

As a Campbell Trophy finalist, Kaniho will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. If he is selected as the Campbell Trophy recipient, his scholarship earnings will grow to $25,000.

Kaniho becomes the second Bronco in four years to be honored as a finalist for the honor, following Mason Hampton in 2017.

In the classroom, Kaniho owns a cumulative grade-point average of 3.94 while working towards his health science degree. He was voted to the 2019 CoSIDA Division I Academic All-America Football Second Team, 2019 CoSIDA Academic All-District 7 Football Team, and is a three-time selection for the Academic All-Mountain West List (2017-19) and Mountain West Scholar-Athlete Award.

His playing career has been just as decorated. Kaniho was an All-Mountain West First Team selection in 2019, making 61 tackles with 11 tackles-for-loss among them. He was a chaos-bringer to opposing defenses, racking up three sacks, an interception, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery.

This season, Kaniho has made 10 tackles, including one for loss, and broken up a pass in the secondary.

Celebrating its 31st year, the award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. Later this year, one member of the National Scholar-Athlete Class will be declared as the winner of the 31st Campbell Trophy Presented by Mazda, having his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000 and receiving his own 25-pound-bronze version of the iconic statue.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.